PDF Print Email

NCSLMA Elementary Battle of the Books



2017 - 2018 EBOB Book List
The list only contains 15 books. The committee listened to suggestions from across the state and reduced the number of books from 18 to 15 for the 2017-2018 year. 

Eligibility Guidelines for Participation

All guidelines must be met to participate in our Elementary Battle of the Books program. The participants must be:

  1. A public (including charter) or independent school recognized by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction with students in grades 4-6, where the elementary school is K-6 for the current year of participation.  Note: For K-8 or 6th grade only schools, students must follow guidelines for EBOB grades 4-5 and BOB grades 6-8.

    1. Charter schools will be treated as a separate school district* within their NCSLMA EBOB regions (See Appendix K).  All participating charter schools within each Region (1 - 8) will compete to determine the charter school representative at their appropriate regional competition. Therefore, charter schools will not participate in public school district competitions.

    2. Independent schools will compete in Region 9.  

  2. A school with a cataloged collection of information resources, a designated space as the media center on the site of the school, a materials budget and open a minimum of 20 hours per week.

  3. A school employing a provisional or licensed on-site School Library Media Coordinator, with the school librarian serving as the head coach.  

  4. School Library Media Coordinator is a NCSLMA member.

  5. School Compliance Form must be submitted online by designated date. Due by December 2nd, 2016. The form will no longer be available after the due date.

Past Book Lists

  * 2016-2017 EBOB Book List

  *  2015-2016 Elementary Battle of the Books List

  *  2014-2015 Elementary Battle of the Books List 


  *  E-BOB Manual (revised for 2017-18) Please read the entire manual. 

  *  EBOB Committee & Regional Coordinators

  *  2017-2018 Timeline

  *  EBOB School Compliance Form
This form should be completed by the Media Coordinator of each school participating by Dec. 1, 2017. In order to complete this form, your membership must be current; join or renew here.  
Login to the page using your membership information. Then you will be able to access the form to complete it. You will also need your NCSLMA member number.

  *  EBOB District Question Request Form 
     This form should be completed by the District EBOB Coordinator
     by January 12, 2018.  *Deadline has been extended to Jan. 31.


  *  EBOB Regional Question Request Form 
     This form should be completed by the Regional EBOB Coordinator by March 9, 2018.

  *  Certificate of District Participation 

  *  Certificate of Regional Participation 

  *  Book Nominations Form - Please nominate books for next year's list. Book nominations for the 2018-19 list will be accepted through Dec. 15, 2017.        

Regional Information

View EBOB Regions   

Region 1 - Contact -  Sara Levin  - levins@pitt.k12.nc.us

Region 2 - Contact  - Charles White - cwhite@lenoir.k12.nc.us

Region 3 - Contact - Cindy Berry - cindy.berry@wilsonschoolsnc.net

Region 4 - Contact - Carla Brooks - carlabrooks@ccs.k12.nc.us

Region 5 - Contact - Gina Cusato­ONeal - GCOneal@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

Region 6 - Contact - Kimberly Kovach - kimberly.kovach@ucps.k12.nc.us

Region 7 - Contact - Annamarie Stuckey - astuckey@caldwellschools.com

Region 8 - Contact - Karen Yutzy - karen.yutzy@bcsemail.org

Region 9 - Contact - Lynn Bowness - lbowness@onealschool.org


Regional Competition Schedule

Region 1  April 16, 2018  Jenette's Pier, 7223 South Virginia Dare Trail, Nags Head

Region 2  April 27 (tentative) (Location TBA)

Region 3  April 25, 2018  Harnett County (Location TBA)

Region 4  April 20, 2018  ERC Building, 396 Elementary Drive, Fayetteville

Region 5  May 8, 2018  Lauglin Education/Professional Building, Guilford County

Region 6  

Region 7  April 24, 2018  West Lenoir Baptist Church, 311 Abingdon Rd. NW, Lenoir

Region 8  April 24, 2018  (10:00 a.m.) Haywood County Schools Professional Development Center, 112 Virginian Ave., Waynesville

Region 9



Elementary Battle of the Books Special Committee Chair:

Paula Farmer
Media Specialist
Moravian Falls Elementary School
2001 Moravian Falls Road
Moravian Falls, NC 28654